How do i qualify?
To be eligible for CARE a student must:
1. Be an eligible full-time EOPS student with 2.0 GPA (good standing);
2. Be a single parent/head of household;
3. Student must be 18 years of age or older;
4. Must be a CalWORKs/cash aid recipient;
5. Have a child(ren) under fourteen (14) years of age
Students who are unable to pay the enrollment fee should complete the Board of Governors' Enrollment Fee Waiver application and submit it to the college
Financial Aid Office for processing prior to payment of their enrollment fees.
Students who complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) will be given an automatic fee waiver based upon the information reported on the application.
There are three ways to qualify for a Fee Waiver:
Method A(BOGG A)
• You or your family is receiving TANF/CalWORKs (formerly AFDC), General Assistance (GA) or Supplemental Security Income/State Supplementary Program (SSI/SSP)
Method B(BOGG B)
• For families or students whose family income and size fall within the following limits:
Each Additional Family Member $ 5,400
Please note that Method C(BOGG C) DOES NOT qualify for EOPS Services
Method C (BOG C)
• Students who do not meet the above criteria, but have financial need as established by the College Financial Aid Office, may also be eligible for an Enrollment Fee Waiver.
To qualify, students must-complete a Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and provide proof of prior year income. Processing of this type of fee waiver takes approximately five working days.
Special Classification Enrollment Fee Waivers:
• You may also be eligible for a BOG if either of the following is true:
• You are a dependent of a deceased or disabled veteran of the U.S. Military
• You are a recipient of a Congressional Medal of Honor or a child of a recipient
• You are a dependent of a victim of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attack
• You are a dependent of a deceased law enforcement/fire suppression person killed in the line of duty.
Proof of these benefits is required.
Other financial aid may be available to students who meet the qualification requirements. Students with questions concerning financial aid eligibility should contact the College Financial Aid Office, CH 111A
How is educationally disadvantaged determined?
A student is considered educationally disadvantaged is she/he meets one of the following conditions:
- Does not have a high school diploma or GED
- High school GPA less than 2.50
- College assessment scores as follows:
- Mathematics---placement in a Math course of 112 or lower
- English skills-- placement in a English course of 28 or lower
All students not meeting the requirements below will be classified as "nonresidents" and are subject to nonresident tuition and enrollment fees. Students shall receive resident student classification if they qualify under one of the following conditions and can provide supporting documentation:
- The student (age 18) and the student's parent or legal guardian have resided in California for at least one year and one day prior to the beginning of the semester.
- The student (age 19 or older) has resided in California for at least one year and one day prior to the beginning of the semester.
- The student is under 18 years of age and his/her parent or legal guardian has resided in California for at least one year and one day prior to the beginning of the semester.
Active duty military personnel and their dependents are granted residency for tuition purposes. These students must prove date of entry into California, and that such assignment is for other than educational purposes. For more information on establishing or proving residency, see the brochure on "Establishing California Residency," which is available from the Admissions & Records Office.