• Admissions
  • Bookstore
  • Careers & Career Tech
  • Counseling
  • Degrees & Certificates
  • Fees & Financial Aid
  • Library
  • Maps & Directories
  • President's Office
  • Foundation & Alumni
  • Quick Links:


lacc: early scenes

Los Angeles Junior College was established on September 9, 1929, by the Los Angeles Board of Education. Dr. William H. Snyder served as the institution's first director. During its first year, we offered only first-semester courses. The "semi-professional courses" were for students who wanted to limit their college education to two years, and the "certificate courses" were for those looking to continue toward university work. There were more than 1,300 students taught by some 54 faculty. The first Associate in Arts degrees were conferred June 19, 1931.

Governance of LACC has changed through the years. Until 1931, it was a division of the Los Angeles Secondary School District. In 1931, the electorate voted to establish a separate Los Angeles Junior College District. In 1938, the Board of Education changed the name to Los Angeles City College. In July 1969, the California State Legislature enacted legislation allowing the separation of the nine-campus Los Angeles Community College District from the Los Angeles Unified School District. A seven-member Board of Trustees was elected and formally assumed governance. (The other eight colleges in the LACCD are: East Los Angeles College; Los Angeles Harbor College; Los Angeles Mission College; Los Angeles Pierce College; Los Angeles Trade-Technical College; Los Angeles Valley College; Southwest College; and West Los Angeles College.)

lacc: early scenes

The chief executive officers of Los Angeles City College since its founding:

Dr. William H. Snyder, Director 1929-1934
Dr. Rosco C. Ingalls, Director 1934-1945
Dr. Einar W. Jacobsen, President 1946-1948
Dr. Howard S. McDonald, President 1949-1955
Dr. John Lombardi, President 1955-1966
Dr. Glenn G. Gooder, President 1966-1970
Dr. Louis Kaufman, President 1970-1973
Dr. John H. Anthony, President 1973-1977
Dr. Stelle Feuers, President 1978-1989
Dr. Edwin Young, President 1989-1991
Mr. Jose L. Robledo, President 1991-1997
Dr. Mary Spangler, President 1997-2003
Dr. Doris Givens, President 2003-2005
Dr. Steve Maradian, President 2005-2007
Dr. Jamillah Moore, President 2007-2012
Dr. ReneƩ Martinez, President 2012-